DUI, or driving under the influence, can have very serious consequences. If you have been charged with DUI, you should immediately consult with a criminal lawyer at a law firm serving Denver. DUI charges can be triggered anytime your blood alcohol level (BAC) registers at 0.08% or higher. In Colorado, a drunk driving conviction can lead to jail time, fines, probation, license suspension, mandatory counseling—and a permanent criminal record.
Even a first time offender can face jail time if convicted of a DUI in Colorado. For a DWAI, or driving while ability impaired, conviction, a driver can serve up to 180 days in jail. DWAI is triggered by .05% BAC or higher. A single DUI conviction can land you behind bars for a year. If you do not hire an attorney to help and earn a second or third of either conviction, you can face another year in jail. Convictions can also result in a suspended license, points on your driving record, and up to $1,500 in total fines.